A painting a day for a year

I decided to make a challenge for myself this year by painting one small ( 4″ x 4″ ) each day for a year.  I am trying to capture something new that I have seen each day on that day’s canvas.  So, this is an exercise in observation and even further, giving ourselves permission to take the time to look.  My rules for this project are: stay away from cliche images ( I’m in SF), no internal commentaries allowed, no editing the image by depicting something that wasn’t there allowed either.  We’ll see how it goes.  Comments requested!

Below is the image for January 1.  I was walking home at midnight and saw 5 men in tuxedos holding and waving sparklers.  They were getting their photo taken by someone else so I didn’t stop to take their picture.  They were friendly and called out “Happy New Year.”

January 1

5 thoughts on “A painting a day for a year

  1. I usually do not write a great deal of comments, however
    i did some searching and wound up here A painting a day for
    a year | dweinberg415. And I actually do have some questions for you if you do not mind.
    Could it be just me or does it look as if like a few of these comments appear like they
    are left by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are
    posting at additional social sites, I’d like to keep up with everything new you have to post. Could you list of the complete urls of your communal sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Comments are closed.